Guest Speakers

Dr. Joyeeta Gupta, Opening Plenary

Dr. Joyeeta Gupta is co-chair of UNEP's Global Environment Outlook-6 (2016-2019), published by Cambridge University Press, which was presented to governments participating in the United Nations Environment Assembly in 2019 and also won the Association of American Publishers PROSE award for Environmental Science. She has been nominated as co-chair of the Earth Commission (2019-2021) set up by Future Earth, together with Johan Rockström and Dahe Qin. She is a full professor of environment and development in the global south at the Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research of the University of Amsterdam and IHE Delft Institute for Water Education. She is also the Faculty Professor on Sustainability (2019-2024). She leads the program group on Governance and Inclusive Development. She was the lead author in the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change that won the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with Al Gore and of the Millennium Ecosystem Assessment which won the Zaved Second Prize. She has successfully supervised 18 PhDs and is currently supervising 24 PhD students in the areas of climate change, forest, food/fish, water and disaster governance, as well as in development challenges, such as food governance and child marriage. She has been on the scientific steering committees of international and national scientific programmes.

Dr. William Sutherland, Opening Plenary

Dr. William Sutherland is the Miriam Rothschild Professor in Conservation Biology in the Department of Zoology at the University of Cambridge. His research area is Population and Community Ecology, and he also has wide interests in conservation biology. He is especially interested in predicting the impacts of environmental change, particularly on bird populations. Some of this work combines field data and models while other work is purely based on field work. While much of his work has been in the UK, he has been involved in many projects elsewhere in the world. Another major theme of his research is using evidence-based conservation to collate experience of the effectiveness of interventions (he initiated and runs and then use this evidence to advise practice. He hopes that this will eventually revolutionize global conservation practices.

Mark Boulet, Closing Plenary

Mark Boulet completed Masters of Environmental Science at Monash University and his undergraduate studies at the University of Melbourne and the Australian National University. He is currently a part-time PhD candidate looking at issues of household food waste and consumer behavior. Mark's background is in environmental sustainability and education. He has worked as an environmental educator in Thailand, developed recycling and green purchasing systems for universities, and engaged householders in sustainable living initiatives. He is particularly proud of the six years he spent managing and growing the multi-award-winning Green Steps training program for university students at the Monash Sustainable Development Institute. In 2011, Mark was awarded an Australian Leadership Award by the prestigious Australian Davos Connection Forum. As a BWA Research Fellow, he has worked on a range of projects involving the design of behavioural change interventions to tackle issues such as food waste, noise pollution, sustainable transport, stormwater pollution and wildlife management. Mark is also coordinator of Understanding human behaviour to influence climate change within Monash's Master of Environment and Sustainability. This has been recognised three times as being amongst the top 7% of all Monash subjects based on outstanding student feedback. Mark tries hard not to bore people with endless tales of trail running, camping, hiking and outdoor gear. Sadly, he is not always successful.

Dr. Enrique Flores, Closing Plenary

Dr. Enrique Flores Mariazza is the Rector of the National Agrarian University, La Molina, Peru. He is an agricultural engineer with a MA and Ph.D in Rangeland Science from the Utah State University College of Natural Resources, USA. He served as a Postdoctoral Researcher in the Department of Agronomy and Rangeland Science at the University of California, Davis, USA. He is currently a Principal Professor and Principal Investigator in the Laboratory of Rangeland Utilization at the Faculty of Agricultural Engineering of the National Agrarian University, La Molina, Peru. His research is related to the branch of grassland ecology and management, with the aim of providing basic and applied knowledge and tools that meet the needs of management and conservation of the country's forage resources and promote the conservation and improvement of the ecological and economic status of grasslands.